Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

brm1

Photos by Halisee

So, I never thought I’d ever use a quote by Lil Wayne don’t get me wrong I do like his music but that mostly involves me going like ‘wait, what? you wanna put what where?’ Listening to hip-hop as a woman is such a treat no?
confidence is the stain they can’t wipe off – Lil Wayne

brm2

I know that is easier said than done especially since confidence comes in waves and will often rear its head in time of need. One thing though that I’ve learned during those low moments is that fake it ‘til you make it actually gets you far. I know I have talked about this before but I do believe that how you dress plays a HUGE part in boosting your confidence. HUGE. Dressing the part (even if you don’t feel it quite yet) actually makes you act the part, when you pretend to be more powerful you are more likely to actually feel powerful.
Have that power look that screams #sorrynotsorry that makes you feel yourself (maybe also listen to ‘feeling myself’/lemonade by Beyoncé) and I promise you your feel good hormones will kick in sooner than you imagine.

TED Talks have this miraculous ability to make one reevaluate your life.

Case in point: social physiologist Amy Cuddy’s talk on,you guessed it, faking it till you become it. Its so informative make a point to watch it if you haven’t already.

“Tiny tweaks can lead to big changes. Before you go into the next stressful evaluative situation, for two minutes, try doing this [wonder woman power pose], in the elevator, in a bathroom stall, at your desk, behind closed doors. Configure your brain to cope in that situation. Get your testosterone up. Get your cortisol down. Don’t leave that situation feeling like, oh, I didn’t show them who I am. Leave that situation feeling like, I really feel like I got to say who I am and show who I am.”

– Amy Cuddy, TED Talk

Thank you for reading and sharing lovelies
Here’s to faking it till we become it!
Stay Sharp!

dress – Nyayo Market , Ngara

clutch – Adams Arcade

brm3

brm4

brm5

brm7

brm6

brm8

brm9

brm10

