Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

brm1

It’s no secret…I sort of have a love affair with lemons and I know those close to me would definitely agree because I managed to get them to join my lemonade bandwagon.:-) A little over three years ago I embarked on a journey to make conscious changes in my lifestyle. Drinking lemon water first thing in the morning was one of those changes and it quickly became my go to fix for almost everything from dealing with stomach discomfort, to curing common cold, as an instant sinus remedy (especially), sore throat, heartburn etc. and recently an inexpensive beauty fix! Let’s focus on the beauty part shall we?

brm2 brm3
I know I’ve said it here before but I’ll say it again, my face has a life of its own and requires a little more than Vaseline to bring it under control. Between a shiny T-zone and occasional torchy zits the struggle is real . I have had my fair share of disappointing experiences with products hence the decision  to switch to home remedies and that’s when I came across the amazing beauty benefits of lemon.

brm3

1.If I didn’t include my morning ritual of having a glass of warm lemon water first thing in the morning I would be lying because one thing I have learnt over the years is that when it comes to achieving beautiful flawless skin half the battle is won from the inside out. Apart from the amazing benefits one thing that I definitely experienced is a happier cleaner skin, definitely a huge PLUS. Freshly squeezed Lemon tea also happens to be one of my favorite drinks. I also enjoy adding a slice of lemon in my cup of green tea as I feel it tastes better that way but if this isn’t your cup of tea (pun intended) you can try orange or lime whichever tickles your fancy. Allow me to digress and share with you my new found respect for green tea.So, I was having this annoying toothache a few days ago that wouldn’t give me a break no matter what I tried and before I reached for a pain killer I decided to first have a cup of green tea which I have to say was the best decision. Within a few minutes I literally forgot I had a toothache like POOF, gone! Moral of the story if you have a toothache green tea is your friend. 🙂

brm4brm5

2. As a toner-This is probably one of the cheapest and easiest way to fight blackheads. I mix three tablespoons of lemon juice with five table spoons of water and then use cotton/finger tips dab on my face. I let it stay on for about 15-20 minutes before rinsing with warm water. I do this after every two to three days religiously and I love the results especially in eliminating excess oil around my T-zone areas as well as dealing with blackheads. I have noticed significant change in the appearance of my skin and would most definitely recommend it to anyone with similar issues. Undiluted lemon juice can be harsh on the skin so it is important to mix it with water, also apply it preferably at night to avoid contact with the sun and be sure to apply sunscreen the next day.If you feel that lemon is too harsh for your skin orange juice is an amazing alternative and just as effective.

brm6 brm

3.As a scrub -I sprinkle brown sugar on a slice of lemon and use it as a lips exfoliator to deal with dry lips as well as an underarm scrub to lighten my armpits. The bleaching properties of lemon lighten up your underarms while sugar removes the dead skin build up. The results are almost instant for the lips but with the armpits slow but steady.

brm9

4.I also like to rub lemon juice mixed with coconut oil on my elbows and knees for a few minutes from time to time to exfoliate and achieve a brighter, smoother and softer feel.

 

brm3

The results I get from using lemon juice are effective not only because it’s a natural home remedy and if used in moderation has no side effects but also because it is inexpensive and easily available. That’s why it earned a spot in my beauty regimen and quickly became my favorite squeeze! What are some of your favorite beauty home-remedies I’d love to hear from you.

Thank you for reading and sharing lovelies.

xx

 

 

